A picture of Representative Gerald E. Connolly
Gerald C.
Democrat VA 11

About Rep. Gerald
  • Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2013

    by Representative Gerald E. Connolly

    Posted on 2013-02-28

    submit to reddit

    Read More about Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2013

    CONNOLLY. Madam Speaker, I am pleased to see the Republican Leadership in the House has decided to relent on its ideological objections to renewing the landmark protections and support services for women who are victims of violence or domestic abuse.

    Until just days ago, it appeared the House was again preparing to stand in the way of reauthorizing the Violence Against Women Act, which was supported by a majority of Republican Senators when the bill passed that chamber on a stronger, more bipartisan vote than it did in the 112th Congress. I am proud to cosponsor the House companion, which now has 200 cosponsors.

    Far too many of us have been touched by domestic violence in one way or another. Maybe it was a mother, a sister, a college roommate, or co- worker, who was forced to suffer in silence following an attack. Domestic violence is a real and troubling problem in our communities, and the need for these protections continues to grow. In my district, Turning Points, the only domestic violence intervention program in Prince William County served 6,000 clients last year. In neighboring Fairfax County, there were more than 8,000 cases of domestic violence reported, and we have seen a 40% increase in homelessness due to domestic violence.

    This vital legislation will renew our successful partnerships with local nonprofits and law enforcement agencies. It will improve protections for underserved communities, particularly immigrants and victims of human trafficking. It will expand housing assistance for victims and provide support regardless of sexual orientation.

    Since these victim protections were first adopted in a bipartisan fashion 19 years ago, reporting of domestic violence has increased as much as 51% as more victims are coming forward. Today's legislation will ensure more women, children and families receive this lifesaving assistance so they can finally move from a situation of crisis to one of stability.

    Again, I commend my Republican colleagues for compromising on this important legislation. This is yet another example of the tremendous work we can achieve for our constituents when we work together, and I hope we continue in that spirit as we turn to address the devastating cuts of sequestration and the budget for the rest of this fiscal year, which will affect these new victim protections among our many other priorities.

    The SPEAKER pro tempore. All time has expired.

    The question is on the amendment in the nature of a substitute offered by the gentlewoman from Washington (Mrs. McMorris Rodgers).

    The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the noes appeared to have it.

    Mrs. McMORRIS RODGERS. Madam Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

    The yeas and nays were ordered.

    The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were--yeas 166, nays 257, not voting 8, as follows: [Roll No. 54] YEAS--166 Aderholt Alexander Amash Amodei Bachmann Bachus Barletta Barr Barton Benishek Bentivolio Bilirakis Bishop (UT) Black Blackburn Bonner Boustany Brady (TX) Brooks (AL) Brooks (IN) Buchanan Bucshon Burgess Campbell Cantor Carter Cassidy Chabot Chaffetz Collins (GA) Collins (NY) Conaway Cramer Crawford Crenshaw Davis, Rodney DesJarlais Duffy Ellmers Farenthold Fleischmann Fleming Flores Forbes Fortenberry Foxx Franks (AZ) Gibbs Gingrey (GA) Goodlatte Gowdy Graves (GA) Graves (MO) Griffin (AR) Griffith (VA) Guthrie Hall Harper Harris Hartzler Hensarling Herrera Beutler Holding Hudson Huizenga (MI) Hultgren Hunter Hurt Jenkins Johnson (OH) Jordan Joyce Kelly King (IA) King (NY) Kingston Kinzinger (IL) Kline Labrador LaMalfa Lankford Latham Latta Lipinski Long Lucas Luetkemeyer Lummis Marino Massie [[Page H800]] McCarthy (CA) McCaul McIntyre McKeon McMorris Rodgers Messer Mica Miller (FL) Mulvaney Murphy (PA) Neugebauer Nugent Nunes Nunnelee Palazzo Paulsen Perry Pittenger Pitts Posey Price (GA) Reichert Renacci Ribble Rice (SC) Rigell Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Rokita Rooney Roskam Ross Rothfus Royce Ryan (WI) Salmon Scalise Schock Scott, Austin Sessions Shimkus Shuster Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Southerland Stewart Stivers Stutzman Terry Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tiberi Turner Upton Wagner Walberg Walden Walorski Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Wenstrup Westmoreland Whitfield Williams Wilson (SC) Wittman Wolf Womack Woodall Yoder Young (IN) NAYS--257 Andrews Barber Barrow (GA) Bass Beatty Becerra Bera (CA) Bishop (GA) Bishop (NY) Blumenauer Bonamici Brady (PA) Braley (IA) Bridenstine Broun (GA) Brown (FL) Brownley (CA) Bustos Butterfield Calvert Camp Capito Capps Capuano Cardenas Carney Carson (IN) Cartwright Castor (FL) Castro (TX) Chu Cicilline Clarke Clay Cleaver Clyburn Coffman Cohen Cole Connolly Conyers Cook Cooper Costa Cotton Courtney Crowley Cuellar Culberson Cummings Daines Davis (CA) Davis, Danny DeFazio DeGette Delaney DeLauro DelBene Denham Dent DeSantis Deutch Diaz-Balart Dingell Doggett Doyle Duckworth Duncan (SC) Duncan (TN) Edwards Ellison Engel Enyart Eshoo Esty Farr Fattah Fincher Fitzpatrick Foster Frankel (FL) Frelinghuysen Fudge Gabbard Gallego Garamendi Garcia Gardner Garrett Gerlach Gibson Gohmert Gosar Grayson Green, Al Green, Gene Grijalva Grimm Gutierrez Hahn Hanabusa Hanna Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Heck (NV) Heck (WA) Higgins Himes Holt Honda Horsford Hoyer Huelskamp Huffman Israel Issa Jackson Lee Jeffries Johnson (GA) Johnson, E. B.

    Jones Kaptur Keating Kennedy Kildee Kilmer Kind Kirkpatrick Kuster Lamborn Lance Langevin Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Lee (CA) Levin Lewis LoBiondo Loebsack Lofgren Lowenthal Lowey Lujan Grisham (NM) Lujan, Ben Ray (NM) Lynch Maffei Maloney, Carolyn Maloney, Sean Markey Matheson Matsui McCarthy (NY) McClintock McCollum McDermott McGovern McHenry McKinley McNerney Meadows Meehan Meeks Meng Michaud Miller (MI) Miller, George Moore Moran Mullin Murphy (FL) Nadler Napolitano Neal Negrete McLeod Noem Nolan O'Rourke Olson Owens Pallone Pascrell Pastor (AZ) Payne Pearce Pelosi Perlmutter Peters (CA) Peters (MI) Peterson Petri Pingree (ME) Pocan Poe (TX) Polis Pompeo Price (NC) Quigley Radel Rahall Rangel Richmond Ros-Lehtinen Roybal-Allard Ruiz Runyan Ruppersberger Rush Ryan (OH) Sanchez, Linda T.

    Sanchez, Loretta Sarbanes Schakowsky Schiff Schneider Schrader Schwartz Schweikert Scott (VA) Scott, David Sensenbrenner Serrano Sewell (AL) Shea-Porter Sherman Simpson Sinema Sires Slaughter Smith (WA) Speier Stockman Swalwell (CA) Takano Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Tierney Tipton Titus Tonko Tsongas Valadao Van Hollen Vargas Veasey Vela Velazquez Visclosky Walz Wasserman Schultz Waters Watt Waxman Welch Wilson (FL) Yarmuth Yoho Young (FL) NOT VOTING--8 Coble Granger Hinojosa Johnson, Sam Marchant Miller, Gary Reed Young (AK) {time} 1139 Messrs. STOCKMAN, LAMBORN, DIAZ-BALART, and GARDNER changed their vote from ``yea'' to ``nay.'' Messrs. ROHRABACHER, BENTI- VOLIO, and HALL changed their vote from ``nay'' to ``yea.'' So the amendment was rejected.

    The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

    The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the third reading of the bill.

    The bill was ordered to be read a third time, and was read the third time.

    The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the passage of the bill.

    The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register