A picture of Representative Stephen F. Lynch
Stephen L.
Democrat MA 8

About Rep. Stephen
  • Tribute to the Cohasset High School Football Team, 2014 Massachusetts Division VI Super Bowl Champions

    by Representative Stephen F. Lynch

    Posted on 2014-12-11

    submit to reddit

    LYNCH of massachusetts in the house of representatives Thursday, December 11, 2014 Mr. LYNCH. Mr. Speaker, today I rise to honor and congratulate the administration, coaches and players of the Cohasset High School football team. On December 6, 2014, the Skippers won the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association Division VI Super Bowl, earning them the title, State Champions.

    Cohasset High School has a long tradition of excellence in high school football. In 1957, the CHS football team went undefeated with a 9-0 record. CHS has won eight South Shore League championships since then, but 2014 is the school's first state championship.

    The 2014 team finished the season this year by winning ten consecutive games, including five hard-fought victories in the MIAA Tournament. This historic playoff run included a 35-3 victory over the previously undefeated Nantucket Whalers, a 28-7 victory over the Mayflower League Champion Bishop Connolly Cougars, a 20-7 victory over the Tri-Valley League Champion Millis Mohawks, a 35-6 victory over the Catholic Conference Champion Cathedral Panthers, and the 35-22 Super Bowl victory over the Littleton Tigers.

    Mr. Speaker, the young men on this football team conducted themselves in such a way as to bring honor, pride and recognition to the Town of Cohasset. They represent what is truly best about high school student athletes. Today, it is my honor to join with the families, friends and residents of Cohasset, Massachusetts, to congratulate the Cohasset High School football team on their historic achievement.

    Administration: Superintendent Barbara Cataldo, Principal Carolyn Connolly, Athletic Director Ron Ford, Head Coach Pete Afanasiw, Assistant Coaches Kevin Dooley, Jeff Knight, John Maher, Phil Maloney, Brian Pattison, Bob Silvia, Don Silvia, Dave Terry, Pete Umbrianna.

    Players: Xander Schubert, Michael Cohen, Danny Durkin, Luke O'Brien, Danny Axelson, Drew Skolnick, Mike Lund, Henry Butenschoen, Adam Benson, Brett Dooley, Nick Hall, Kyle Ferreira, David Burke, Liam Lynch, Cole Sullivan, Connor Curran, Christian Hanke, Patrick Haggearty, Jake Koncius, Noah Froio, Joseph Welman, Zach Silva, Mike Nolan, Nick Slamp, Cole Kissick, Ray Tolosko, Ollie Hanke, Tim Gillis, Sam Sullivan, Chris Norton, Thomas Durkin, Charlie Swartwood, Max Fitzgerald, Sean Mavilla, Jake Johnson, Jack Osten, Matt Froio, Jack Hoffman, Steve Iantosca, Bobby Driscoll, Vincenzo Kulturides, Liam Prescott, Nick Lydon, Derek Bennett, Ryan Losordo, Cal Osten, Jake Bennett, Tyler Mulhern, Victor Najjar, James Hynes, Jack Mahoney, Chris Lydon, Reed Parks, Alex Norton, Hayes Keniley, Nick Tetreault, Will Thomas, Ryan Donovan, Jack Donohue, Jack Speer.


  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register