A picture of Representative Gerald E. Connolly
Gerald C.
Democrat VA 11

About Rep. Gerald
  • To Recognize the Fairfax County Youth Football League and the 2013 Fairfax County Football Hall of Fame Honorees

    by Representative Gerald E. Connolly

    Posted on 2013-02-28

    submit to reddit

    CONNOLLY of virginia in the house of representatives Thursday, February 28, 2013 Mr. CONNOLLY. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize the Fairfax County Youth Football League and to congratulate the 2013 Fairfax County Football Hall of Fame honorees and scholarship award recipients.

    The importance of youth sports cannot be overstated. Participation in organized sports instills in our youth many values that will serve them well throughout life. These values include sportsmanship, teamwork, honesty, a sense of belonging, and maybe most important, the work ethic developed by striving for success and working to achieve a common goal. Organized youth sports also contribute to our society. Studies have shown a correlation between participation in sporting activities and increased academic performance. Some studies indicate that a reduction in gang activity can be partially attributed to refocusing at-risk children into organized, supervised activities such as youth sports.

    I commend the Fairfax County Youth Football League for providing opportunities for our children to succeed and be a part of a team. I also congratulate the following students, coaches and community leaders who are being recognized at the 23rd Annual Fairfax County Football Hall of Fame: $1,500 Scholarship Award Recipients: Raina Aide (Cheerleading, J.E.B. Stuart HS), Harrison ``Sonny'' Romine (Football, Chantilly HS), Brian Deely (Football, Westfield HS), and Ben Sanford (Football, Madison HS) Fairfax County Football Hall of Fame 2013 Inductees: Evan Royster (Washington Redskins, Penn State, Westfield HS, FPYC), Bruce Hanson (Head Coach, Yorktown HS), and Steve Wilmer (Coach/Commissioner--McLean Youth Football) Football Official of the Year--Youth Sports: Steve Caruso (Fairfax County Football Officials Association) Karl Davey Community Achievement Award: Tom Healy (Southwestern Youth Association, FCYFL) Tom Davis Meritorious Service Award: Deb Garris (Manager, Synthetic Turf Branch, Fairfax County Park Authority) Gene Nelson Commissioner of the Year Award: Jason McEachin (Dulles South Youth Sports) High School Players of the Year: Jonathan Allen (Stone Bridge HS), Tyler Donnelly (Yorktown HS), Oren Burks (South County HS), Sean Huelskamp (Chantilly HS), Scott Carpenter (Gonzaga College HS), Nick Newman (Battlefield HS) High School Coaches of the Year: Mickey Thompson (Stone Bridge HS), Jason Rowley (Oakton HS) Youth Sports Players of the Year: Avery Howard (Manassas YFL), Virginia ``Ginny'' Delacruz (SYC), Justin Burke (RYA), Preston Bacon (CYA), Miles Thompson (Fairfax Police Youth Club), Anthony Eaton, Jr. (Alexandria Youth Football), Hunter Godin (APYFL), Robbie McGoff (SCAA), Nicholas DiVecchia (SYA), Markel Harrison (VYI), Carlo Esposito (BRYC), Michael Bayeux-Gary (HOYF), Phillippe Oliveros (CYA), Joshua Breece (Ft. Belvoir Youth Sports), Noah Adler (VYI), Christian Jessup (Dulles South Youth League) Youth Sports Coaches of the Year: Anthony Price (Gum Springs Community Center), Buddy Morris (BRYC), Tommy Durand (Arlington Football League), Donny Cooke (VYI) Youth Cheerleaders of the Year: Haley Clay (Dulles South Youth League), Rachel Strauss (VYI), Angel Bailey (HOYC), Asjah Snead (HOYC), Meghan Adams (GHYFL) Mr. Speaker, I ask that my colleagues join me in congratulating the Fairfax County Youth Football League as well as those students, coaches and community leaders who are being honored at this 2013 Hall of Fame celebration.


  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register