A picture of Representative Peter J. Visclosky
Peter V.
Democrat IN 1

About Rep. Peter
  • The 38Th Annual Labor and Community Awards Reception

    by Representative Peter J. Visclosky

    Posted on 2013-03-12

    submit to reddit

    VISCLOSKY of indiana in the house of representatives Tuesday, March 12, 2013 Mr. VISCLOSKY. Mr. Speaker, it is my distinct honor to congratulate several of Northwest Indiana's most devoted and proficient workers. The Northwest Indiana Federation of Labor, American Federation of Labor- Congress of Industrial Organizations, recognized several individuals for their dedication during the 38th Annual Labor and Community Awards Reception, which was held at Duneland Falls Banquet and Meeting Center in Chesterton, Indiana on Thursday, March 7, 2013. These individuals, in addition to the other Northwest Indiana Federation of Labor members who have served Northwest Indiana so diligently for such a long period of time, are the epitome of the ideal American worker: loyal, dedicated, and hardworking.

    At this year's event, several individuals and organizations received special recognition. Thomas Conway Sr., United Steelworkers International Vice President, Administration, received the Service to Labor Award for assisting organized labor to improve the quality of life of workers throughout Northwest Indiana.

    The Union Label Award was presented posthumously to William Cantrell and Steven Skvara, retired members of United Steelworkers and Steelworkers Organization of Active Retirees (SOAR), for their unselfish devotion to the Labor Movement through its promotion in all areas of endeavor: social, civic, education, and political.

    Michael Flores, of Teamsters Local 142, and Eric Jania, of Carpenters Local 272, received the George Meany Award for their significant contributions to the youth of their communities through their involvement with the Boy Scouts of America.

    Brenda Bowler, of United Steelworkers Local 6787, was honored with the Community Services Award for her exemplary service to her community and to the enhancement of the quality of life for the people of Northwest Indiana.

    Ray Jackson, Treasurer, United Steelworkers Local 6787, is this year's recipient of the President's Award. Mr. Jackson was honored for enhancing the well-being of workers throughout Northwest Indiana through countless contributions to further the philosophy of the Labor Movement.

    The Industrial Sector Award was presented to Michael Young, Vice President, United Steelworkers Local 6103, for his leadership and support of working families throughout Northwest Indiana.

    Thomas Williamson, Business Agent, Ironworkers Local 395, was the recipient of the Building Trades Award, which was bestowed upon him for his many years of service to the Labor Movement and his outstanding dedication to his fellow union members.

    David Sikes, Director of Allocations/AFL-CIO Community Services Liaison for the Lake Area United Way, was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his many years of Labor activism and his commitment to his community. For the exceptional service he has provided to the people of Northwest Indiana, he is worthy of our admiration and respect.

    Northwest Indiana has a rich history of excellence in its craftsmanship and loyalty by its tradesmen. These individuals are all outstanding examples of these qualities. They have demonstrated their loyalty to both the union and the community through their hard work and self-sacrifice.

    Mr. Speaker, I ask that you and my distinguished colleagues join me in congratulating these dedicated, honorable, and exemplary citizens, as well as all of the hardworking union men and women throughout America. They have shown commitment and courage toward their pursuits, and I am proud to represent them in Washington, D.C.


  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register