A picture of Representative Gerald E. Connolly
Gerald C.
Democrat VA 11

About Rep. Gerald
  • Recognizing the 2015 Honorees of the Fairfax County Branch of the Naacp

    by Representative Gerald E. Connolly

    Posted on 2015-12-10

    submit to reddit

    CONNOLLY of virginia in the house of representatives Thursday, December 10, 2015 Mr. CONNOLLY. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the 2015 Honorees of the Fairfax County Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). The Fairfax Branch is recognized as the NAACP's first rural chapter. In 1915, a few brave African American citizens in Falls Church, Virginia, fought a proposed ordinance that would have segregated housing. They called themselves the Colored Citizens Protective League (CCPL) and the group evolved to become the Fairfax County Branch of the NAACP. Since its inception, the NAACP has promoted equal rights and justice for all and has shown a spotlight on issues of great importance including civil rights, education, voting rights, desegregation, and prison reform. I have been honored to work with this organization and pledge my continued support of our shared goals.

    Each year, the Fairfax County NAACP honors several deserving individuals and organizations that have shown extraordinary support of the Branch or the community. I am honored to submit the names of the following award winners: President's Awardees: Cassie Marcotty, Abby Conde, Anna Rowan, Lidia Amanuel, and Marley Finley. These high school student leaders formed ``Students of Change,'' now known as CAALM (an acronym of their initials), to spearhead the initiative to rename JEB Stuart High School as Thurgood Marshall High and to remove all symbols and mascots that honor the Confederate Legacy.

    The President's Award will also be presented to Virginia House of Delegates member Scott A. Surovell of the 44th District, for his exceptional leadership and support to the communities of Hybla Valley and Gum Springs in southern Fairfax County.

    Community Service Awardees: Debbie Kilpatrick for her exceptional leadership, advocacy, and dedication as President of the Fairfax County Council of PTAs.

    Celeste Peterson for establishing the Erin Peterson Scholarship Fund and her devotion to the Young Men's Leadership Group at Westfield High School.

    Mr. Speaker, I ask my colleagues to join me in congratulating the 2015 honorees of the Fairfax County NAACP and in thanking them for their tremendous contributions to our youth and our community.


  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register