A picture of Representative Gerald E. Connolly
Gerald C.
Democrat VA 11

About Rep. Gerald
  • Recognizing the 2013 Officers of the Occoquan Woodbridge Lorton Volunteer Fire Department

    by Representative Gerald E. Connolly

    Posted on 2013-01-25

    submit to reddit

    CONNOLLY of virginia in the house of representatives Friday, January 25, 2013 Mr. CONNOLLY. Mr. Speaker, I rise to recognize the 2013 Officers of the Occoquan Woodbridge Lorton Volunteer Fire Department. The 2013 officers and members of the board of directors are taking leadership roles in one of Northern Virginia's longest standing volunteer fire departments. The O.W.L. Volunteer Fire Department was created to address the need for organized fire response capabilities in the growing suburbs of Northern Virginia. In 1938, the Department officially formed to become the only fire department between Fredericksburg and Alexandria. In the subsequent decades O.W.L. has expanded to staff three stations and provide emergency medical services.

    The members of O.W.L. are dedicated community volunteers, and the 2013 officers and directors will be diligent stewards of this tradition of service. The over 300 active O.W.L. members answer 14,000 calls and serve 60,000 people each year. Their job is demanding and the hours are long, but these brave men and women are driven by their dedication to public safety and the communities that they serve. We would all do well to follow their example.

    I congratulate and commend the following 2013 incoming officers: Department Chief: James F. McAllister.

    Fire Assistant Chiefs: Karl F. Fippinger, Wayne A. Haight, David S. Halman, Michael Clark, and Steve Godin.

    EMS Assistant Chief: Edward A. Craig.

    Fire Captains: Justin W Witt, David P. Williams, Brian J. Smith, John M. Roberts, Ernie M. Firkin, Jr. and Kurt E. Bolland.

    EMS Captain: Richard T. Ruggieri.

    Fire Lieutenants: Mike Nazionale, Derick N. Ondra, Richard P. Moore, Alexander R. Moody, Billy Campbell, Harold F. Griffith, Nathan Potter, Joshua Culp, Jon R. Colpitts, Mark A. Chandler, Robert L. Brown, and Jonathan W. Baldwin.

    EMS Lieutenants: Cynthia M. Young, Kelly Shaw, David Darrach, Julia Jordano, Tammy L. Hill, and Erika Estrella.

    President: William Spicer.

    Executive Vice President: Jim Dart.

    Admin Vice Presidents: William L. Carter, Ernest Desantis, Henry J. Neyhouse, and George W. Smith.

    Membership Secretary: Melissa L. Payne.

    Treasurer: George J. Nazionale, Jr.

    Election Officer: Valoree A. Brown.

    Sergeant at Arms: John McMahon.

    Board of Directors: Ron Miller, Chris McIntosh, and Barry King.

    Mr. Speaker, I ask that my colleagues join me in congratulating these remarkable volunteers on their new leadership positions, and in thanking all the members of The Occoquan Woodbridge Lorton Volunteer Fire Department for the vital service they provide to the Prince William County community.


  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register