A picture of Representative Tom Reed
Tom R.
Republican NY 23

About Rep. Tom
  • Recognizing Recipients of the Fulbright Award

    by Representative Tom Reed

    Posted on 2013-03-19

    submit to reddit

    REED of new york in the house of representatives Tuesday, March 19, 2013 Mr. REED. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize the individuals from the 23rd District of New York who were recently awarded the Fulbright Award. Thirteen constituents from my district were selected to receive this prestigious honor: Dr. Christopher Barrett, Ms. Emily Brown, Ms. Abena Bruce, Ms. Dina Bryan, Dr. Abigail Cohn, Dr. Matthew Evangelista, Mr. Andrew Hart, Dr. Teresa Jordan, Ms. Catherine Kearns, Mr. Joshua Kim, Mr. John Maher, Dr. Judith McKinney, and Ms. Sarah Steece.

    The recipients include both undergraduate students and scholars from a wide range of higher education institutions including Cornell University, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Ithaca College, New York University, Stanford University, and Williams College.

    The Fulbright Program is America's largest international exchange program, having linked over a quarter of a million students with more than 155 countries worldwide. These opportunities not only offer our students a chance to educate themselves in foreign nations but these programs also help to strengthen our relationships with their host countries. Since 1977 when the Fulbright Association was established, many notable individuals have been recipients of this award. Ten Fulbright recipients have been elected to the United States Congress, 43 have received a Nobel Prize, and 78 have received the Pulitzer Prize.

    Fulbright Award recipients are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement as well as the leadership potential they show in their fields. It is a privilege to represent a district that so many of these award recipients call home. The bar has now been set very high, and I am proud to have them representing our nation as ambassadors abroad.


  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register