A picture of Representative Paul Tonko
Paul T.
Democrat NY 20

About Rep. Paul
  • Honoring the 225Th Anniversary of the Towns of Stillwater, Saratoga, Halfmoon, and Ballston, New York

    by Representative Paul Tonko

    Posted on 2013-03-06

    submit to reddit

    TONKO asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 minute and to revise and extend his remarks.) Mr. TONKO. I rise today to recognize four towns in the 20th District of New York that will celebrate their 225th anniversary tomorrow. They're the towns of Stillwater, Saratoga, Halfmoon and Ballston.

    The place of the Still Waters had French settlers as early as the 1600s, and they were known to have a mill. Originally part of Albany County, the districts of Saraghtoga, and Halfmoon were divided on March 24 of 1772. In 1775, BallsTown was taken from Saraghtoga, making three districts within Albany County. Eventually, in February of 1791, the New York State Legislature created the county of Saratoga. Early Ballston residents were deeply involved in the Revolutionary War. And in Halfmoon, some of the original minutes from the first town meeting in April of 1788 still exist.

    [[Page H1317]] Mr. Speaker, these towns are replete with history and rich in heritage. We do well to remember the foundation on which we are built and to continue to add to the mosaic that is the Capital Region, the State of New York, and indeed our Nation.

    Congratulations on the celebration of the four towns' 225 years. May our future and theirs be even brighter than our rich past.


  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register