A picture of Representative Jo Bonner
Jo B.
Former Republican AL 1
About Rep. Jo
  • Youtube:
  • A picture of Representative Jo Bonner

    Congratulating the 2012 Bcs National Champions, the University of Alabama Crimson Tide

    by Former Representative Jo Bonner

    Posted on 2013-01-14

    submit to reddit

    BONNER of alabama in the house of representatives Monday, January 14, 2013 Mr. BONNER. Mr. Speaker, I rise to pay tribute to an exceptional group of young men who, for the second year in a row, have distinguished themselves as the undisputed national champions of college football. On January 7, 2013, the University of Alabama Crimson Tide captured the BCS National Championship with a decisive 42 to 14 victory over the Fighting Irish of Notre Dame.

    By clinching their third BCS national championship in four years, the Crimson Tide has cemented their place in college football history and prompted some to ask if this remarkable team might be unequalled in the storied annals of the game.

    As Kevin Scarbinsky of the Birmingham News observed in a January 8 op-ed, All the while Notre Dame was reliving history, Alabama was making it. All over the golden domes of the Fighting Irish. Only one team played like a champion Monday in the BCS National Championship Game. Only one team shook down the thunder with old-school football and woke up the echoes of the greatest dynasties in the sport. Yea Alabama. The Crimson Tide became the third program in the poll era of college football history to win a third national championship in four years by taking apart the first program to do it. The Notre Dame champions of 1946, 1947 and 1949 would appreciate the Alabama champions of 2009, 2011 and 2012 because Alabama's third title came at Notre Dame's expense, right in Notre Dame's face.

    Given that Alabama plays in a Southeastern Conference that's won seven straight BCS titles, in a state with a rival in Auburn that interrupted this parade with its own championship, we're witnessing the greatest run in college football history. Greater than Notre Dame in the 1940s, Alabama in the 1970s or Nebraska in the 1990s.

    To win it again Monday was special. To do it against Notre Dame, Alabama's historical nemesis, was memorable. To leave no doubt on the scoreboard leaves no doubt in the debate. This was history. This is a dynasty. The best we've ever seen. The best there's ever been.

    Congratulations to head coach Nick Saban, and coaches Burton Burns, Mike Groh, Doug Nussmeier, Jeff Stoutland, Jeremy Pruitt, Kirby Smart, Lance Thompson, Bobby Williams, Chris Rumph, Scott Cochran, and Joe Pannunzio. And, above all, congratulations to the 2012 BCS Champion Crimson Tide football team: Edward Aldag, Ryan Anderson, Jonathan Atchison, Dakota Ball, Parker Barrineau, Kenny Bell, Deion Belue, Jerrod Bierbower, Chris Black, Chris Bonds, Hunter Bush, Brent Calloway, Caleb Castille, Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Landon Collins, Levi Cook, Amari Cooper, Trey DePriest, Denzel Devall, Quinton Dial, Josh Dickerson, Xzavier Dickson, Dillon Drake, Kenyan Drake, Dustin Ellison, Phillip Ely, Malcolm Faciane, LaMichael Fanning, D.J. Fluker, Cade Foster, Jalston Fowler, Kurt Freitag, John Fulton, Brandon Greene, Adam Griffith, Caleb Gulledge, Rowdy Harrell, Dee Hart, Tyler Hayes, Ben Howell, Adrian Hubbard, Brandon Ivory, Kelly Johnson, Nico [[Page E25]] Johnson, Aaron Joiner, Barrett Jones, Christion Jones, Cyrus Jones, Harrison Jones, Ryan Kelly, Korren Kirven, Arie Kouandjio, Cyrus Kouandjio, Eddie Lacy, Darren Lake, Dillon Lee, Robert Lester, Chad Lindsay, Wilson Love, Isaac Luatua, Josh Magee, Cody Mandell, Nathan McAlister, AJ McCarron, Corey McCarron, Dee Milliner, William Ming, Alec Morris, Taylor Morton, C.J. Mosley, Michael Newsome, Harold Nicholson, Kevin Norwood, Michael Nysewander, Anthony Orr, Tyler Owens, Jeoffrey Pagan, Tana Patrick, Nick Perry, D. J. Pettway, Parker Philpot, Marcus Polk, Reggie Ragland, Russell Raines, Ty Reed, Trey Roberts, Jeremy Shelley, Austin Shepherd, Alex Shine, Marvin Shinn, Blake Sims, Geno Smith, Damion Square, Anthony Steen, Ed Stinson, Vinnie Sunseri, Bradley Sylve, Alphonse Taylor, MK Taylor, Carson Tinker, Dalvin Tomlinson, Brian Vogler, Paul Waldrop, Chance Warmack, Jabriel Washington, Ranzell Watkins, DeAndrew White, Wilson Whorton, Eddie Williams, Jarrick Williams, Jesse Williams, Kellen Williams, Michael Williams, Nick Williams, Danny Woodson Jr, and T.J. Yeldon.

    And on behalf of Bama fans around the world, Roll Tide! ____________________

  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register