A picture of Senator Patty Murray
Patty M.
Democrat WA

About Sen. Patty
  • Cloture Motion

    by Senator Patty Murray

    Posted on 2013-12-17

    submit to reddit

    MURRAY. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the mandatory quorum required under rule XXII be waived with respect to the cloture motion relative to H.J. Res. 59.

    The PRESIDING OFFICER. Is there objection? Without objection, it is so ordered.

    The cloture motion having been presented under rule XXII, the Chair directs the clerk to read the motion to invoke cloture.

    The assistant legislative clerk read as follows: Cloture Motion We, the undersigned Senators, in accordance with the provisions of rule XXII of the Standing Rules of the Senate, hereby move to bring to a close debate on the motion to concur in the House amendment to the Senate amendment to H.J. Res. 59, the Bipartisan Budget Act.

    Harry Reid, Patty Murray, Max Baucus, Mark Begich, Barbara Boxer, Richard Blumenthal, Tom Udall, Debbie Stabenow, Sheldon Whitehouse, Claire McCaskill, Mazie K. Hirono, Christopher A. Coons, Jon Tester, Brian Schatz, Martin Heinrich, Joe Donnelly, Heidi Heitkamp, Kirsten E. Gillibrand.

    The PRESIDING OFFICER. By unanimous consent, the mandatory quorum call has been waived.

    The question is, Is it the sense of the Senate that debate on the motion to concur in the House amendment to the Senate amendment to H.J. Res. 59, making continuing appropriations for fiscal year 2014, shall be brought to a close? The yeas and nays are mandatory under the rule.

    The clerk will call the roll.

    The legislative clerk called the roll.

    The yeas and nays resulted--yeas 67, nays 33, as follows: [Rollcall Vote No. 279 Leg.] YEAS--67 Alexander Baldwin Baucus Begich Bennet Blumenthal Blunt Booker Boxer Brown Cantwell Cardin Carper Casey Chambliss Collins Coons Donnelly Durbin Feinstein Flake Franken Gillibrand Hagan Harkin Hatch Heinrich Heitkamp Hirono Hoeven Isakson Johnson (SD) Johnson (WI) Kaine King Klobuchar Landrieu Leahy Levin Manchin Markey McCain McCaskill Menendez Merkley Mikulski Murkowski Murphy Murray Nelson Portman Pryor Reed Reid Rockefeller Sanders Schatz Schumer Shaheen Stabenow Tester Udall (CO) Udall (NM) Warner Warren Whitehouse Wyden NAYS--33 Ayotte Barrasso Boozman Burr Coats Coburn Cochran Corker Cornyn Crapo Cruz Enzi Fischer Graham Grassley Heller Inhofe Johanns Kirk Lee McConnell Moran Paul Risch Roberts Rubio Scott Sessions Shelby Thune Toomey Vitter Wicker The PRESIDING OFFICER. On this vote, the yeas are 67 and the nays are 33. Three-fifths of the Senators duly chosen and sworn having voted in the affirmative, the motion is agreed to.


  • submit to reddit
  • Register your constituent account to respond

    Constituent Register